The Rikkoku Gomi translates to ‘Six Countries’ and ‘Five Tastes’ and are a Japanese classification system used for agarwood.

It is used to classify the origin and fragrance profile of the source material.

The Six Countries and Five Tastes of Agarwood

  • Kyara – Bitter
  • Rakoku – Spicy
  • Manaka – Salty
  • Manaban – Sweet
  • Sumatora – Sour
  • Sasora – Sour